Published by Sage Publications

Sociological Bulletin is published thrice a year: January-April, May-August, and September-December. The journal was published biannually from 1952 to 2003, and became a triannual publication from 2004.

Sociological Bulletin carries reports on research conducted both in India and abroad by professional Sociologists and Anthropologists. Over the last five decades, the journal has been advancing the frontiers of knowledge about Indian society and its social institutions and culture, its structure and dynamics of change. It has been contributing to our understanding of other societies as well.

The journal meets the needs of higher education in India and provides for specialists and non specialists alike. It also serves as an important source material for University students and researchers.


Life Members have online access to the Sociological Bulletin through their ISS login page. All back issues are also available through this log in. Every four months a new issue will be uploaded on Life Member log in.

Those wanting to subscribe for the journal please see the information regarding subscription at



Office Bearers

Paramjit S. Judge (Amritsar), Managing Editor

Margaret Abraham
Professor of Sociology, Hofstra University, New York, USA

Chandrashekara Bhat
Formerly Professor of Sociology, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad, India

G K Karanth
Formerly Professor of Sociology, Institute for Social and Economic Change, Bengaluru

R Indira
(President) Formerly Professor of Sociology, University of Mysore, Mysuru, India

Nilika Mehrotra
Professor of Sociology, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi, India

R B Patil
Formerly Professor of Sociology, Shivaji University, Kolhapur, India

Hemixa Rao
Formerly Professor of Sociology, Saurashtra University, Rajkot, India

Dipti Ranjan Sahu
(Secretary) Professor of Sociology, University of Lucknow, Lucknow, India


Radhika Chopra
Professor of Sociology, Department of Sociology, Delhi University, Delhi, India

D V Kumar
Professor of Sociology, North Eastern Hill University, Shillong, India

Ajit K Pandey
Professor of Sociology, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, India

Purendra Prasad
Professor of Sociology, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad, India

Vishva Raksha
Professor of Sociology, University of Jammu, Jammu, India

Manisha Rao
Professor of Sociology, Mumbai University, Mumbai, India

Gaurang Sahay
Professor of Sociology, Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai, India

Swati Shirwadkar
Formerly Professor of Sociology, S.P. University of Pune, India



To be published by Sage from 2018

Indian Sociological Society (ISS) has started an international journal in Hindi entitled, ' Bhartiya Samajshastra Sameeksha' on January 2014. It has already published 4 issues and fifth is in continuing process of publication. We are trying to create a sociological forum for establishing research through Hindi medium. The journal endeavours to give coverage of teachers and researchers' articles, papers, comments in Hindi to cater to the social scientists of Hindi speaking belt so far it has being a biannual journal of sociologists' research , essays, interviews, comments, book reviews and various other academic activities highlighting them in a systematic manner. The journal is a going to be a strong medium of creating discourse in sociology with the help of the sociologists at global and national level. We believe that such an endeavour will get ready cooperation from teachers, scholars, publishers and students. In order to make your cooperation by way of taking membership of the journal and contributing your research articles on topical issues of sociological relevance. To Submit Paper and Subscribe click here


Editor: B.K. Nagla (Rohtak)

Editorial Assistance:

Rajiv Gupta (Jaipur)
Asheesh Kumar (Mahendragarh)  
Naresh Bhargava (Udaipur)  

Editorial Board: BSS

1.    Vivek Kumar (JNU, New Delhi)
2.    Vinita Singh (Ranchi)
3.    Rajesh Misra (Lucknow)
4.    Arvind Chauhan (Bhopal)

Editorial Advisory Committee: BSS

1.    Padma Rani (Manipal)
2.    Parvez Abbasi  (Surat)
3.    Abha Avasthi (Lucknow)
4.    Bharti Rastogi, (Varanasi)
5.    Dharmshila Prasad (Patna)
6.    B. M. Kumar (Pantnagar)
7.    J.K. Pundir (Meerut)
8.    B.P. Badola (Dharamshala).

Feel free to contact the ISS office writing on following e-mail addresses:
The Editor of the Sameeksha, Prof. B.K. Nagla:


Where to Find Us


Follow us

facebook   google   twitter