5Estd. 1951

Indian Sociological Society

Flat No. 1046, Sector-C, Pocket-1 Vasant Kunj, New Delhi 110 070

Phone: 011-26132510

Email: societyinsoso@gmail.com, Website: www.insoso.org

PRESIDENT Abha Chauhan

Professor of Sociology Director, Centre for Kashmir Studies, Central University of Himachal Pradesh Dharamshala-176215 (Himachal Pradesh) Mob.9419797709 presidentinsoso@gmail.com

SECRETARY Manish K. Verma

Department of Sociology
Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar
University, Vidhya Vihar
Lucknow-226025 (U.P)
secretaryinsoso@gmail.com
Mob:9198277999

TREASURER Shruti Tambe

Professor Department of Sociology Savitribai Phule Pune University, Pune- 411007 (Maharashtra) shruti.tambe@gmail.com Mob:9890906849

MEMBERS

Arvinder Ansari. New Delhi arvinder2009@gmail.com Manish Thakur, Kolkata mt@iimcal.ac.in Sanjay Tewari, Kanpur sanjay.tewari@yahoo.co.in Shweta Prasad, BHU, Varanasi shweta1_bhu@yahoo.co.in Ajailiu Niumai, Hyderabad ajainiumai@gmail.com Balalji Kendre, Mumbai bnk2830@rediffmail.com Gayatri Bhattayacharya, Kolkata gayatrib18@gmail.com Prem Sagar Vivek, Mumbai psvivek318@gmail.com Tattwamasi Paltasingh, Odisha tpaltasingh@gmail.com Alok Kumar Meena, Jaipur alokkumarmeena10@gmail.com Anshu Kedia, Lucknow akedia43@yahoo.in Ramesh H. Makwana, Gujarat drrhmakwanaspu@yahoo.com Sudha Khokate, Bengaluru sudhaarunieii@hotmail.com Vinita Singh, Ranchi vinitasingh77@yahoo.co.in

SECRETARY (OFFICE) Boinu Vaiphei

E-mail: societyinsoso@gmail.com
Phone: 011-26132510
Mobile: 7217679262

Dear Colleagues,

It is with a great sense of pleasure and satisfaction that I complete my two-year tenure as President of the Indian Sociological Society (ISS) today. The journey has been full of activities, some achievements, and a few important decisions taken by the Managing Committee of the ISS. I begin on a positive note by informing everyone that the ISS organized two successful annual conferences and two mid-term conferences in 2022 and 2023. The 48th All India Sociological Conference (AISC) was held from 28th - 30th December 2023 at the Vellore Institute of Technology (VIT), Vellore (Tamil Nadu). The conference was attended by nearly one thousand delegates from different parts of India and abroad and more than 850 abstracts were received and papers presented in Technical sessions of the 30 Research Committees (RCs). Besides the Inaugural and Valedictory sessions, 04 Plenary sessions, and 03 Memorial Lectures were organized during the conference. I congratulate Prof. Bhat and Prof. Xaxa for receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award 2023 of the ISS, and Dr. Lekha and Dr. Aleena for getting Prof. M.N. Srinivas Memorial Prize. On behalf of the ISS, I thank the local organizers of the 48th AISC, especially the Organizing Secretary, Dr. Prabakar, and his team for their unstinted support and cooperation.

Dated: 31st December 2023

Another feather in the cap of the ISS has been the organization of the successful Pre-Conference workshops for research scholars. This year, the Young Researchers' Workshop was held at VIT, Vellore (26th - 27th December 2023). We are grateful to the Convenor of the Workshop, Dr. Balamurugan, and others at VIT who made this possible. The meetings of the RCs were held regularly. In addition to the 28 RCs, two new Adhoc Groups (AGs) 01 (Digital Sociology) and 02 (Sociology of Sanitation) were formed. We welcome them to the ISS. An important decision was taken regarding the formation and approval of the National Council of Regional Associations (NCRA) with Prof. R. Indira and Prof. Antony Palackal as the National Coordinator and National Co-coordinator respectively. The NCRA will work as a network of RAs and organize activities in association with the ISS. The ISS also took the initiative to bring out volumes based on the papers presented in the two Annual Conferences in 2022 and 2023 with the President, and two MC Members, Prof. Ajailiu and Prof. Tattwamasi as Editors. The volumes of the ISA Journals – Sociological Bulletin, Bharatiya Samajshastra Sameeksha and Explorations, and the e-Newsletter were published meticulously and timely. The volumes based on the papers published in the Hindi Journal were published and released at the 48th AISC at Vellore. I thank Prof. B.K. Nagla for his tireless efforts in this matter and Rawat Publications for bringing out the publications. I also thank all the Editors and their team for their diligence and hard work.

At the infrastructural level some works, like the installation of the lift and construction of one additional room at the ISS office in New Delhi, have been made. The Election 2023 was completed successfully and I thank Prof. Debal SinghaRoy and the Election Committee for their consistent and unwavering support. Friends, I acknowledge that the two areas that require more indulgence



INDIAN SOCIOLOGICAL SOCIETY Flat No. 1046 Sector C. Pocket 1

Flat No. 1046, Sector-C, Pocket-1 Vasant Kunj, New Delhi 110 070

Phone: 011-26132510

Email: societyinsoso@gmail.com, Website: www.insoso.org

PRESIDENT Abha Chauhan

Professor of Sociology
Director, Centre for Kashmir Studies,
Central University of Himachal Pradesh
Dharamshala-176215
(Himachal Pradesh)
Mob.9419797709
presidentinsoso@gmail.com

SECRETARY Manish K. Verma

Professor
Department of Sociology
Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar
University, Vidhya Vihar
Lucknow-226025 (U.P)
secretaryinsoso@gmail.com
Mob:9198277999

TREASURER Shruti Tambe

Professor
Department of Sociology
Savitribai Phule Pune University,
Pune- 411007 (Maharashtra)
shruti.tambe@gmail.com
Mob:9890906849

MEMBERS

Arvinder Ansari, New Delhi arvinder2009@gmail.com Manish Thakur, Kolkata mt@iimcal.ac.in Sanjay Tewari, Kanpur sanjay.tewari@yahoo.co.in Shweta Prasad, BHU, Varanasi shweta1 bhu@yahoo.co.in Ajailiu Niumai, Hyderabad ajainiumai@gmail.com Balalji Kendre, Mumbai bnk2830@rediffmail.com Gayatri Bhattayacharya, Kolkata gayatrib18@gmail.com Prem Sagar Vivek, Mumbai psvivek318@gmail.com Tattwamasi Paltasingh, Odisha tpaltasingh@gmail.com Alok Kumar Meena, Jaipur alokkumarmeena10@gmail.com Anshu Kedia, Lucknow akedia43@yahoo.in Ramesh H. Makwana, Gujarat drrhmakwanaspu@yahoo.com Sudha Khokate. Bengaluru sudhaarunjeji@hotmail.com Vinita Singh, Ranchi vinitasingh77@yahoo.co.in

SECRETARY (OFFICE) Boinu Vaiphei

E-mail: societyinsoso@gmail.com Phone: 011-26132510 Mobile: 7217679262 and efforts on the part of the ISS are related to the Website and updating of the Membership list. I am sure the new team will accomplish these tasks within a few months. I congratulate the new ISS President Prof. Maitrayee Chaudhuri, the Secretary Prof. Shweta Prasad, and the 05 new MC Members. I thank all MC Members, RC Convenors, RA Representatives, the Editors of ISS Journals, the office staff, and all life members for their all-time support over the last two years. The ISS today is in a good financial position and we leave the office with a sound administrative, infrastructural, economic, and academic status.

Wishing you all a very happy and prosperous New Year – 2024.

Prof. Abha Chauhan

President, Indian Sociological Society